Call For Free Initial Consultation
(615) 259-2660
TwitterFacebookRss FeedGoogle PlusLinkedIn


DUI Tennessee

Drunk drivingDUI Tennessee|Turner Law Offices, P.C.

Tennessee is one of the toughest states in the nation when it comes to DUI!  When a person is convicted of DUI in Tennessee, they will spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail and loose their license for one year.  This harsh sentence is imposed simply for driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or driving with a blood alcohol level greater than .08%; the penalties are much, much more severe if there is an accident and someone is injured or killed.

Mandatory Minimum Penalties for First Offense DUI in Tennessee

Unlike most states, Tennessee DUI law imposes a mandatory jail sentence and loss of license.  Additionally, the following is the minimum penalty for DUI in Tennessee for conviction pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated Section 55-10-401(DUI law):

  • Mandatory jail sentence of 48 hours, up to 11 months 29 days
  • Mandatory jail sentence of 7 consecutive days if BAC greater than .20
  • 11 months 29 days supervised probation
  • Loss of driver’s license for 1 year
  • Participate in a licensed alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Mandatory minimum fine of $350
  • Ignition Interlock Device if you get a restricted driver’s license

The mandatory minimum penalties for subsequent convictions of DUI are as follows:

  • DUI 2nd Offense:  45 days in jail, fine $600, loss of driver’s license 2 years
  • DUI 3rd Offense:  120 days in jail, fine $1100, loss of driver’s license 6 years
  • DUI 4th Offense:  FELONY, 150 days in jail, fine $3000, loss of driver’s license 8 years

Implied Consent Violation

The Tennessee Implied Consent Law requires that any person driving a motorized vehicle on the public streets and right-of-ways shall submit to chemical testing to determine intoxication.  The police officer can request any test of his choosing; you can request any test of your choosing at your expense after providing a sample to the police officer.  If you refuse to give a sample for the purpose of determining your BAC concentration, the separate offense of Implied Consent Violation has been committed.  Violation of this law imposes a mandatory minimum loss of driver’s license for one year, regardless of whether the DUI charge is ultimately dismissed.

Hire an Experience Tennessee DUI Attorney

Turner Law Offices, P.C. has over 20 years representing people arrested and charged with DUI and DUI related offenses.  DUI is the only crime where people are convicted based SOLELY on the officer’s opinion of intoxication.  Opinions are often wrong, and we have a proven track record of obtaining not guilty verdicts and reducing DUI cases to reckless driving without jail time!  Request a Free Initial Consultation Online or call our office today to schedule an in person meeting with one of our DUI lawyers.

(615) 259-2660

/* */