Call For Free Initial Consultation
(615) 259-2660
TwitterFacebookRss FeedLinkedIn

Home » Choose the Right Criminal Defense Lawyer! » Aggravated Assault Laws in TN

Aggravated Assault Laws in TN

aggravated-assault-crimeViolent crimes happen every year in the state of Tennessee. If you’re accused of something as serious as aggravated assault, then it’s absolutely crucial that you’re aware of the legal steps necessary for ensuring a secure future. These types of crimes have very severe penalties that can be a burden for the rest of your life, preventing you from forming relationships, experiencing fair employment opportunities, and maintaining a satisfactory quality of life overall.

Classification of Aggravated Assault

This type of violent crime is punished more seriously than simple assaults, which are worth a mere misdemeanor. Aggravated assault is a felony offense – meaning the charges will follow you on your criminal record, making it difficult to do a great many things even after you’ve fulfilled your punishment.

State law maintains that assaults are aggravated if there’s evidence proving any of the following:

  • A deadly weapon was used as a threat in order to provoke fear in a victim.
  • Injuries resulting from the crime qualify as “severe.”
  • The offender violated a court order, probation contract, or other such document; or had the intent of doing so.
  • The offender neglected to protect children from harm as the result of the crime.
  • Other various factors and conditions specific to circumstance.

Consequences of Aggravated Assault Charges

As previously state, these crimes are considered felonies. However, it’s a bit more complicated than that. There are two types of aggravated assault charges in Tennessee:

  1. Aggravated assaults involving recklessness are worth a Class D felony, maximum fines of $5,000, and prison sentences ranging anywhere between two and twelve years.
  2. Intentional aggravated assaults are worth a Class C felony, maximum fines of $10,000, and three to fifteen years in prison.

Offenders of both types of aggravated assault will be required to pay court fees, which are calculated on a case by case basis. Probationary periods for either crime varies as well.

Hire Nashville Criminal Attorneys

If you’ve been accused of an aggravated assault and are looking at these kinds of charges, don’t wait to start the search for legal representation. Robert J. Turner and associates have years of experience helping clients in a wide range of cases involving aggravated assaults. We know the most efficient methods of protecting the rights of accused offenders of aggravated assaults, and devote our full attention toward the most positive outcome possible. Call today or go online to set up your Free Initial Consultation, and meet with a skilled lawyer who is ready and waiting to hear your case and help you seek the justice you deserve.

(615) 259-2660