Being charged with an assault is a serious offense. It is imperative that you hire a lawyer to represent you immediately after arrest. We understand the disruption that an arrest has on someone, and we strive to use our knowledge and experience to make this unpleasant process less traumatic.
An assault is illegal pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated Section 39-13-101. An assault is defined as either:
An assault can be either a Class A Misdemeanor, carrying up to 11 months 29 days in jail and a fine up to $2,500.00 or a Class B Misdemeanor, carrying up to 6 months in jail and a fine up to $500.00. The latter definition of an assault is above is a class B misdemeanor.
An aggravated assault is illegal pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated Section 39-13-102. Aggravated Assault is defined as follows:
Intentionally or knowingly commits an assault and that assault:
Aggravated assault can be either a Class C Felony, carrying from 3 to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.00, or a Class D Felony, carrying from 2 to 12 years in prison and a fine up to $5,000.00. The latter definition of an aggravated assault above is a class D felony.
As you can clearly see, the consequences of being arrested for an assault are severe. A competent criminal lawyer can help you in the following ways:
Call us today for a free, no obligation consultation!